Thursday, August 27, 2015

"Self-Promotion Makes Me Uncomfortable," by Ken Lizzi, sci-fi author of 'Under Strange Suns'

“They” say that self-promotion is part of the game, that we should shatter the image of writers as introverts and recluses, that none of us can get away with being J.D. Salinger in today’s world of social media. Maybe “they” are right. But I’m going to invert the standard practice of a fiction writer and tell the truth: Self-promotion makes me uncomfortable.
There, I said it. My name is Ken Lizzi and I do not like talking about myself. No, I don’t feel any better. But I suppose catharsis is too much to expect after only the first step.
I do my best. I’m building my “brand.” I’m Tweeting and posting on Facebook. I sit on panels at conventions and inscribe personalized notes at book signings. As long as the topics trend away from the personal, I think I do all right.
But like Kevin Bacon in Animal House I don’t want to seem too, y’know, pushy.
The thing is, a book-launch blitz doesn’t care about my tender sensibilities. Let the undesirable candidates worry about seeming too pushy. These interview questions are not going to answer themselves. Give a little of yourself, people want to know something about the author. Get out there and share. You’re not J.D. Salinger, you know.
Sigh.
Fine. I’ll play the game. And why not? My stuff is pretty good. I think you’ll like it. Modesty only sends you to the keg for another ale, it doesn’t get you a dance with Rosie Cotton.
Look, I’m not agoraphobic. I’m not a wallflower. I’m...self-contained, is all. A bit wary of opening my mouth and shoving my foot in. Of course, a couple of beers in and you’ll be hard pressed to shut me up.
There, see? I’m sharing. Now buy my books.

Please?

//////////////////////////////////////////////

Title: Under Strange Suns
Genre: SF
Author: Ken Lizzi
Publisher: Twilight Times Books



Under Strange Suns is on sale now until August 28th: Only .99 cents!

About the Book:

In the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs’ John Carter of Mars, Under Strange Suns brings the sword-and-planet novel to the twenty-first century. War is a constant, and marooned on a distant world, former Special Forces soldier Aidan Carson learns there is nothing new Under Strange Suns.


About the Author:

Ken Lizzi is an attorney and the author of an assortment of published short stories. When not traveling – and he'd rather be traveling – he lives in Portland, Oregon with his lovely wife Isa and their daughter, Victoria Valentina. He enjoys reading, homebrewing, and visiting new places. He loathes writing about himself in the third person. Connect with Ken on Facebook and Twitter.